Today is my last day at JISC after nearly 7 years.

I have had two chunks of maternity leave during that time so my team are probably a little bored of saying good bye 😉 Not to mention my previous stint about (ahem) 12 years ago (I know, I know, I’m older than I behave). However, today is the real deal.

I have been provided an embarrassment of riches in leaving cards, gifts and kind words. I am never sure how to respond to compliments, so I googled it and the advice is to take it, thank the giver, show your joy.

So …

CETIS folk. Lorna, thank you for this wonderful post. I’m going to re-read it when things get tough, you are very generous. Martin, thank you for the digital flowers. I will continue to pimp your sh1t, because you’re a wizard. And thank you all for the beautiful brooch which will always remind me of our “into the wild” booksprint

Jorum team, thank you for the Visual Storytelling book and the funny card, and Jackie’s kind words. And for generally doing an amazing job. I am so looking forward to the big reveal of the new interfaces! It’s been a real pleasure working with you.

OER Community. Yes, I think we can say community.  I was in the middle of writing this post when David alerted me to this post and this one. I’m not leaving you, just changing role. Fingers crossed I’ll be joining in. But with my JISC hat can I say what a talented bunch of people we have in UK universities? I’d absolutely agree with what Pete (one of the stars) said about the big contributions some people have made, Pete’s list, Pat’s additions and I’d add Sarah Currier and the much missed John R Robertson too. It’s easy to look good with folk like this around.

JISC colleagues, well. Gulp. Where can I start? Thank you for my 3 leaving cards, my wine and nibbles, wagamamas, the canadian pub with the table football hustler (who knew?!), my gorgeous necklace and bracelet, the chocolates, the bristol pub trip and many emails and hugs. Thank you Rachel, thank you Digital Infrastructure Team (I won’t miss the nerf guns but I will miss you), thank you everyone. I could write a whole blog post on the many talents I’ve been lucky to work with. I look forward to our paths crossing again in the new year when do doubt I’ll be knocking on your door asking for money advice.

I’ll stop now before this turns into a who’s who of people-who-amber-likes-working-with.

I’ll leave you with this:

I’m very much looking forward to getting to know people at Warwick University and get my teeth into my new role, I am very lucky to be able to take a warm happy glow with me 🙂

