After watching the episode of BBC’s Virtual Revolution http://www.bbc.co.uk/virtualrevolution/ about the economics of the free web I’ve had a nagging feeling that its not reflective of my experiences.
The I realised that since I bought myself a blackberry smartphone I mostly use that for web access. I get Facebook via a mobile app: very little space for adverts. Ditto google search.
I’ve had the same hotmail email account since c.1993, and never followed the crowd to googlemail.
Aside from a very persistent coffee maker company, most of the commercial email I get is stuff I’ve given permission to.
Obviously the revenue models for mobile web services will catch up, but I suspect iphone users with gmail accounts will be the main practice target while companies work out their next steps.
For now I have a little frisson of smugness that I seem to be cheating the web without really trying.
Sent from my BlackBerry® wireless device

